My (2 month Around the World) Holiday Budget.

This was my budget for a 2-month holiday. I would say it was a mid-range holiday as I spent some time in hostels where I spent next to nothing and the rest of my time in 4-5star hotels spending whatever I felt like.

Image

http://www.mapsofworld.com

I went over my budget, however, not by too much. When I found something extra I hadn’t planned for I used my backup money to do it, no regrets. It is my recommendation to always take more money than you budgeted, as a backup if needed (like I did! 🙂 ). I also highly advise you to always carry enough cash, then if in the event you have trouble with your ATM card, travel card or credit card, you won’t be stuck in a foreign country with no money.

My budget by country including the current exchange rates while I was travelling in December 2012/ January-February 2013 is below.

Argentina – 5 days: $70 per day           = $350AUD

Exchange rate: 1AUD= 4.89244ARS

Brazil – 15 days: $70 per day                           = $1050AUD

Exchange rate: 1AUD = 2.09507BRL

Peru – 9 days: $45 per day                    = $405AUD

Exchange rate: 1AUD = 2.66682PEN

Germany – 4 days: $85 per day                      = $340AUD

Exchange rate: 1AUD = 0.793484EUR

Poland – 8 days: $40 per day                 = $320AUD

Exchange rate: 1AUD = 3.25799PLN

Cuba – 4 days: $100 per day                          = $400AUD

Exchange rate: 1AUD = 1.0332CUC

Mexico – 8 days: $50 per day                 = $400AUD

Exchange rate: 1AUD = 13.334MXN

New York – 5 days: $100 per day           = $500AUD

Exchange rate 1AUD = 1.03USD

Total = $3765AUD

I took an extra $900AUD cash with me in my wallet (my backup money). For each currency I used, I carried 2 days worth in cash. All money I converted a few weeks before leaving Australia, as some currencies had to be ordered from the capital (I come from a small town).

There were a couple of currencies I could not get in Australia including Cuban Pesos (CUC) and Polish Zloty (PLN). In these cases I took my 2 days worth of cash in AUD so I could exchange the money in those countries upon arrival. The remaining money for my trip I loaded onto a multi-currency travel card. I chose the ANZ travel card, with up to 10 currencies available to load it was perfect for my trip.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me or leave a comment and I’ll get back to you!

Happy travelling, #no regrets

Xoxo

Siobhan.

4 thoughts on “My (2 month Around the World) Holiday Budget.

  1. Hi,

    My name is KC Owens, I’m a college student and I love to travel! While cruising the Internet, I found your site and really enjoyed reading your posts. I have been to countries all over Europe with just my backpack and a camera. Since I am a college student and I have significant bills, it can be difficult to find ways to travel the world. However, I have done this several times, with less than ten pounds of luggage and while on a college dime!

    I was hoping that you would allow me to write a post for your site to share my tips and tricks with your readers. I put a lot of time into my traveling, it is my biggest passion and I would love to inspire others by sharing my stories, mistakes and triumphs. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Best,

    KC Owens

    • Hello KC!

      Great to hear stories from a fellow budget traveller! I also have travelled while paying off this and that so usually always travel as thrifty as possible! Lots of couch surfing with friends :).

      I would love for you to write a post, please email it to vonsrebniak@yahoo.com.au so I might read your post then I can add to my site. I always look for others tips and tricks before melding those with my own knowledge and would love to hear yours!

      Siobhan
      Wanderlust

Leave a Reply

