Moving to Can Tho, Vietnam.

Hello Wanderlusters!!!

Sorry about the length of time that has passed since my last post. I moved house and have had endless problems with the internet connection in my new area, however, they have now been rectified and I can finally start posting again! Yay!

In February this year (2013) I packed up my life and moved to Can Tho City on the Mekong Delta in Vietnam. This is a few snaps from my new life.

Pre departure, Brisbane, Australia.

IMG_1351

Saying goodbye to Australia!

Colourful street in Saigon, Day 1.

Most houses in Vietnam are built in this style – plots of land are sold with just a few metres width but more than triple that in length.

First glimpses of Can Tho City, Day 2.

Can Tho Bridge

Cần Thơ Bridge – at 2.75km long it is the longest main span cable-stayed bridge in Southeast Asia.

On a smaller bridge looking over some of the city… (As Can Tho is built along the Mekong Delta, there are many bridges throughout the city.)

One of the many bridges I travel across weekly to go shopping

Can Tho Airport (Can Tho City has more than 2 million people with most citizens concentrated in a small area. It only takes approximately 15-20 minutes by motor scooter (doing 40km p/h) to travel from one side of the city to the other, and the airport is just 10 minutes from the city centre by scooter.)

Can Tho International Airport

My first grocery shopping trip on my bicycle – Week 3.

Laden with groceries for my new house in Can Tho, 3 weeks in a hotel was long enough!!

Public Holiday = Day out with friends on the Mekong Delta, a boat ride through the river and a trip to the Cai Rang floating markets.

Watermelons are abundant in Can Tho

Sellers hang a sample of what they have for sale on top of a long pole on their boat so buyers may see from a distance.

Sellers hang a sample of what they have for sale on top of a long pole on their boat so buyers may see from a distance.

Relaxing and catching some rays on our early morning boat ride through the canals of the Mekong Delta, we were awake at 4am and on the boat by 530am so I was a little tired!!

Relaxing and catching some rays on our early morning boat ride through the canals of the Mekong Delta, we were awake at 4am and on the boat by 530am so I was a little tired!!

Random snapshots of life in Can Tho

Another amazing Vietnamese lunch out in the countryside for a friends nephews 1st birthday party!

An amazing Vietnamese lunch out in the countryside for a friends nephews 1st birthday party!

Visiting a Pagoda on 'Foreign Teachers Day' outing to Soc Trang city south of Can Tho

Visiting a Pagoda on my schools ‘Foreign Teachers Day’ outing to Soc Trang city, south of Can Tho.

Visting the school headquarters in Saigon with the Vice-Director of Studies in Can Tho

Visting VATC school headquarters in Saigon with the Vice-Director of Studies in Can Tho.

One of my "Kitty" classes - on the weekends I teach children from 4 years old. They LOVE singing and craft time <3

One of my “Kitty” classes – on the weekends I teach children from 4 years old. They LOVE singing and craft time ❤

Another country day trip to a friends grandparents orchard to pick some fruit to take home and enjoy - love the traditional Vietnamese hats.

Another day trip to a friends grandparents orchard in Vinh Long to pick some fruit to take home and enjoy – love the traditional Vietnamese hats.

Performing at the school's annual Scholarship Ceremony and College gradation day because someone ratted out to the director of the school that I sing!! (Mainly I sing just for me and at open mic nights etc, not professional at all however the Vietnamese LOVE to sing, every event of any sort involves singing here.)

Performing at the school’s annual Scholarship Ceremony and College Graduation day, because someone ratted out to the director of the school that I sing!! (Mainly I sing just for me and at open mic nights etc, not professional at all, however the Vietnamese LOVE to sing. Every event big or small I’ve been to in Can Tho involves someone singing.)

Well that’s all for today!! I hope these photos give you some insight into life in Vietnam as an ESL teacher, and if you’re considering this as a new path in your life but hesitating for whatever reason, I hope this post might inspire you to just take a risk and go for it! The Expat life is so amazing, I have so much free time to go where I please, more friends and invitations than I can count and the chance to experience something new every day.

Take risks:  if you win, you will be happy; if you lose, you will be wise.  ~Author Unknown

Until next time, xoxo

Siobhan.

Leave a Reply

